The S*#@ is Bananas…..

Bananas get a bad rap because they are super high in sugar. That s*&% IS bananas. Bananas are GREAT for you. Unless you’re trying to get into some crazy sculpted fitness competition  then I see nothing wrong with indulging in some natural sugars. I frickin LOVE bananas. Toss them in my protein shakes, oatmeal, yogurt, wrap w/ PB, top a rice cake, freeze for ice cream puree. The list is endless. I have 1 almost every day and I use them a lot to healthify a muffin or bread recipe. Yesterday I used them for the infamous 2 ingredient pancake….Banana Protein Pancakes

So prettyyyyy….

Banana Pancakes

The recipe calls for just 1 banana and 1 egg, but mine end up being 4 ingredient pancakes with my modifications:

  • 1 whole egg
  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 T vanilla protein powder

* Toss all ingredients in a food processor (my mini one comes in very handy). Blend until smooth. Cook over med heat, these will cook faster than a traditional pancake and are going to be thinner, more on the crepe side. Batch makes 2 big cakes.  I also use an egg protein powder so mine have a spongy texture. Toppings include walnuts and agave nectar. I also have used cinnamon, almond butter or peanut butter, 100% maple syrup or honey, coconut, fresh blueberries. This is by far one of my favorite breakfasts!

Lunch was a quick one, I sautéed up some chicken sausage (the apple are my favorite)  w/ a side of Dijon mustard for dipping. They are pre-cooked so it takes minutes.  I also sautéed some spinach, I added one egg to the spinach to pack a little more protein and fat into the meal.  I also enjoyed my FAVORITE beverage (besides wine)… georgia peach polar seltzer water w/ a slice of lemon. Make this meal ahead of time to pack for lunch! I thoroughly enjoyed it.

 

Best beverage ever! The orange vanilla is great too!

 

Best Beverage Ever

Dinner last night was bomb. I’m a fan of one meal that can be made different ways by just switching up some ingredients. Stuffed chicken is one of those meals. Last night was a delicious stuffed chicken w/ roasted butternut squash. The squash took some time but it was well worth it!

Stuffed Chicken and Roasted Squash

Ingredients for chicken:

  • 4-6oz boneless skinless chicken breast pounded flat
  • quinoa
  • cherry tomatoes
  • spinach
  • feta
  • italian seasonings
  • salt, pepper
  • olive oil
  • balsamic vinegar

For squash:

  • Pre-cut butternut squash (on sale post Thanksgiving!)
  • 1T honey
  • 1T brown sugar
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • pepper
  • garlic

*For the chicken I mixed the quinoa, spinach, tomatoes, feta, olive oil and seasonings in a bowl. Stuff the chicken and wrap into a ball. Drizzle a little extra olive oil and seasoning on top of chicken. Bake for 30+ minutes at 350 deg. Optional: When finished drizzle w/ balsamic vinegar. To mix up recipe swap in different veggies and cheeses.

*Squash will need to be started first. Toss butternut squash in bowl with all ingredients, then lay flat on cookie sheet. Bake for 40-60 minutes at 350 deg until desired crispness. Be sure to flip occasionally. I bet the kiddos would love these!

Do you have a favorite banana recipe?

 

 

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dinners, Lunch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The S*#@ is Bananas…..

  1. Pingback: Law of Attraction | Share The Health

  2. Pingback: Dinner Fail | Share The Health

  3. Pingback: Fancy Pants Chicken | Share The Health

  4. Pingback: Stretching, Mobility and Yoga Rant | Share The Health

  5. Pingback: Food up the Wahoo | Share The Health

  6. Pingback: Recipe Recap | Share The Health

Comment

