Diets suck.Period.

I’m gonna go ahead and say my relationship with food went sour around the age of 8-10. It was around that time that my Pediatrician told my mom I needed to go on a diet. Now I know the old asshole intelligent MD was just looking out for my health. But he wasn’t in the best shape I’ve ever seen for an old man. And didn’t he know I already had the weird lactose free milk box at school as well as the welfare free lunch pass. I mean seriously, do you have to make the pass a different color?? Couldn’t you just make a check mark in the corner, some discretion people!? This REALLLY set me up for a confidently spent grammar school. A fat, weird milk-drinking poor kid. Insert complexes galore.  Unfortunately the diet was not super successful…my mom’s (god love her) idea of a diet was having fruit loops vs. cinnamon toast crunch. So this is why every time I have tried a “diet” my brain goes loco and brings me back to the time in my life that I try to keep tucked away in the deep dark corners along with the hammer pants. When I’m on a diet I want EVERYTHING I can’t have. I obsess about food. FOOD FOOD all day, what I’m gonna have, when I’m gonna have it, what I can’t have…ughhh. Brutal. Which is why I have sworn off diets all together. I have a much better relationship with food this way. When you focus on what you can’t have, well of course you want it! Human nature. That’s why we love men w/ wedding bands! Just kidding, thats just me:) I like to focus on what I CAN have.  When you create your meals around things you enjoy it no longer becomes a diet..it becomes a lifestyle.  Now I may not be eating 110% clean all day every day like some incredibly (boring)  committed people. But I actually enjoy what I eat.  I never force myself to eat things I don’t like or I’m not in the mood for. And if I eat a big fat brownie, I don’t let it drive me to Therapy. I may not look like Kelly Ripa (that chick definitely eats lettuce leaves) but my food plan works for me and for my goals. It’s important that you find one that works for you if you want to make changes that will stick.

Breakfast I had my Protein Oatmeal again, this time w/ bananas vs. apples. Although, I do like the apples better.  Such a quick and delish breakfast, its been a favorite lately. There is just no way to make oatmeal look appealing in a photo…but I promise it taste good!

Banana Protein Oatmeal

Blurry crap photo…

Lunch was some left over stuffed chicken and broccoli. I ate it before I took a photo…sorry.

Dinner was some fantab Coconut Chicken. Also think the kiddos would love this!

Coconut Chicken

*I would like you to take not of my new hand crafted plate I purchased just for your viewing. I refuse to buy matching anything until I own a home, so most of my kitchenware are hand-me-downs from ’72.  So I went out and got one solo plate and matching bowl.  Now if I can just get my landlord to replace these hideous blue countertops w/ granite….

Coconut Chicken:

  • 6-8 chicken tenderloin
  • coconut flour
  • almond flour
  • 1-2 eggs
  • salt, pepper
  • organic shredded coconut
  • coconut oil (or olive oil)
  • garlic, red pepper *optional

To prepare the chicken I used 3 bowls: fill 1 w/ coconut flour, the 2nd w/ eggs, and the 3rd w/ 1/2 almond flour, 1/2 coconut flakes and seasonings. I added just a touch of garlic and crushed red pepper because I love the heat, but totally optional. Rinse chicken and dip in bowls 1–>3. * Note I don’t typically use measurements. Amounts depends on how much you make. Season appropriately. 

Coat pan generously w/ coconut oil but does not have to be deep. Heat should be moderate, if too high oil will burn. Place tenderloin in oil, flip when browned, about 5-6 minutes. Be gentle or you will lose the crust.

My sides included brown rice, pineapple and avocado  Other ideas: pineapple salsa, honey, manga sauce, fruit salsa, honey mustard.

What would you pair with your Coconut Chicken??

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dinners. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Diets suck.Period.

  1. Dee says:

    Probably brussel sprouts because I’m obsessed with them.

  2. Pingback: Fancy Pants Chicken | Share The Health

  3. Pingback: Stretching, Mobility and Yoga Rant | Share The Health

Comment

