Toughen Up.

I feel like I need to follow up my Diets Suck post w/ some clarification.  I don’t want to give you all a pass to think “Yea I’m just gonna live my life and eat what I want screw diets… YOLO!!” Eating well does take sacrifice. There are certainly things you will need to avoid or eat less of.  But its frickin life. You want to feel like crap, eat crap, you want to be fit, don’t eat crap. It’s that simple…and It’s not that tough. Giving up your beloved cheddar chive mashed potatoes sucks, I get it, but it’s not thattt tough. Child birth is tough, med school is tough. Suck it up. Seriously. Will power builds the more you act with it. You WILL crave those things less (for real, studies prove it). So next time you are contemplating throwing in the towel think about our soldier’s. They have it tough. YOU can do this shit.

If you eat what you’ve always eaten, you’ll weight what you’ve always weighed.

I tried a new muffin recipe I got from Fast Paleo. I didn’t realize how many eggs it called for until I started the recipe. Yikes.! I cut out some fat by using 3 egg whites, 3 whole.

Holy Precious!

  • Preheat over to 350 deg
  • 3 ripe bananas, mashed ( I used 3 and 1/2)
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil, melted  (I used olive oil because I ran out of coconut oil)
  • 2T honey  (I used agave because I ran out of honey)
  • 1T vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour, sifted (heaping)
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 1tsp baking soda
  • 1/2tsp salt
  • 1T cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup chopped walnuts ( I used more than 1/3)
  • 6 eggs
  • 20-25 minutes

You can mix the wet and dry ingredients separately like real bakers, but I like to live on the edge so I toss it all in one big bowl and blend. Place in lined cupcake tins and bake. I left mine in for 25 minutes because I filled those bad boys up high. Eat them for breakfast or a sweet snack. Keep in mind anytime you are making a health-ified treat, it is not going to be as sweet as the traditional version. Even so, I thought these where pretty tasty. Great with a glass of almond milk or a scoop of almond butter!

What’s your favorite breakfast muffin??

This entry was posted in Breakfast, On the go, Snacks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Toughen Up.

  1. Katie V. says:

    I used to eat Alfredo pasta and drink soda every weekend when I went out to eat and thought it was okay because it was “just on the weekends”, but I go out to eat like 5 times every weekend so it added up. I also used to put cream and sugar in my tea and have milk with my breakfast and dinner, which were the hardest things to give up. But I’m proud to say today that I only take skim in my tea now and havent touched soda, alfredo or a glass of milk in the longest of time! These things, along with my kickass workouts at KFIT have been the reason for all my success at losing 17 lbs and many of inches in the last 5 months! I feel like a completely different person and those things I gave up…I don’t even notice them anymore. So when I splurge on some homemade cookies with my kids I don’t drive myself crazy becuase I remember all the things I gave up on a daily basic that make all the difference 🙂

    • kgotell says:

      What a transformation! I remember when you just started, post baby and nearly died:) but such determination..and you never quit. Total life change, inspired by your baby girl but maintained for you. you are a kfitter thru and thru:)

      • Katie V. says:

        Thanks Kerri! It’s amazing how much better I feel about myself. I love trying on cloths again…it used to be so depressing. I am so happy with my results and can’t wait to see how much further I can take it! (My husband says thank you as well lol:)

  2. Dee says:

    I cut out soda after reading “Wheat Belly” and how awful it is for you (especially women). Cutting out all the sugary crap and fried foods made all the difference in the world to how I felt, never mind the improvement in how I look. Anyone can make healthy changes to thier diet and use the rule of 3…..after three weeks you won’t even want it. Money back guarantee…lol.

    • karina says:

      I made changes to my diet, too. I used to be so consumed by food, I would be worrying about lunch, at breakfast time. Then, worrying about my evening snack, by mid day. It was always there in the back of my mind ‘what will I eat next?’ I would go to Mcy Ds for $1 double cheeseburgers for lunch and then I would hit the dollar store, because it was cheap, and id by things like choc covered graham cracker cookies, and eat the whole box. The thing was, the next day my food cycle phycios (sp?) crap would start all over again. I went to bed full, and woke up feeling like utter crap. All the while, no exercising besides walking my pups at the dog park. I was watching myself kill myself on a daily basis. I was so overwhelmed by my health that I ignored it. I was growing out of a size 22 pants. smh.
      Last year, a friend of mine said lets start bootcamp. I agreed thinking it was a zumba class. I remember Kerrie emailing me saying its ‘not zumba, just bootcamp’ and I thought ‘how bad could it be?’ I refused to look at any pictures on the website in fear of them scaring me. Well, I walked into the studio the first night and WOOZA! WAKEUP!! I thought in my head ‘This chick is crazy. She wants me to hop on a pink box as tall as my knees? and Burpees?’ I had never been on the floor and gotten up so many times before in my life!!! But, then I got mad because everyone else could do these things no problem. I was mad at myself. I was pissed.
      Little by little, Kerrie taught me different ways to healthify my foods and recipes. Myfitnesspal was and continues to be a huge part of my weightloss success because it points out the numbers to me. And, I totally cut out fast food, processed foods, red meat, breads and pasta. ( I cut the breads and pasta myself because those were my goto foods. I thought nothing of eating a box of mac and cheese for dinner 5 nights a week.) I exercise and jog so much I never have time to think about food. Atleast not inthe negative way I used to.
      sorry this has gotten so long, but, Kfit and Kerrie have been there my whole journey and they have legit changed my life. Along w the fab ladies I have met, that sweat with me, laugh w me, and cheer me on. My journey started last Feb, and today, in Nov, Im down 82 lbs, wearing a size 14 pants and a Lg top. I have never been this size and I feel amazing!!!! I hope to be down 100lbs by Feb. We will see. Even if my numbers arnt down, I am the healthiest I have ever been. Thanks to Kerrie & Kfit!!!

  3. K Dubs :) says:

    Thanks for the motivation ladies!!!! Your stories on here & logs on Facebook help keep me motivate everyday. Post wedding I fell into a little “honeymoon slump” but your inspiration & Kerrie’s kick ass workouts helped nip that in the butt quickly! Thankfully! In the past after “falling off the wagon” a few weeks I would have just given up completely. But not this time!! I’m not throwing away all the hard work I’ve done over that last year! I’m a completely different person! Cutting out sugar & processed foods changed my life. I no longer crave bread & junk. I crave fruit & healthy stuff. I look at food now as fuel….I love it!!!

  4. kristenT says:

    omg karina, i definitely just teared up when reading this. You and Kerrie and everyone else have been my inspiration all along! It if wasnt for my big sis I would never be where I am today. You have kept me going all along, And kerrie has helped so much with eating. No only does she steer you in the right direction, but her recipes and blogs make it so much easier to eat healthy foods and actually realize they can be yummy!! It only takes a few small changes to make a HUGE difference. Thanks KFIT, Karina, Kerrie and everyone else for changing my life!

  5. Pingback: Recipe Recap | Share The Health

Comment

