Christmas Party Review

This weekend we celebrated KFIT’s Holiday Recipe Swap. And I mean celebrated! One thing about us Kfitter’s, we know how to work hard and play harder.  For the swap, all the girls bring a “healthy” version of any type of appetizer/dessert. Some try to sneak in a not-so-healthy dish, like “Well I used low-fat cream cheese”…pshhh. You’d think they would know better. But we did have some frickin tasty recipes this time around. The idea is that everyone takes down the recipe’s they like on a provided recipe card. But without fail, everyone has too much wine and never takes copies of recipes. So I’ll be posting them for you booze bags for the next few days.

Before 3 Vats of Sangria

Before 3 Vats of Sangria

After 3 Vats of Sangria

After 3 Vats of Sangria

IMG_7195

I’ll start with my recipe since it was pretty much the best.

Caramel Cheese-less Cheesecake Squares (truly guiltless)Caramel Cheese-less Cheesecake Squares

Caramel Cheese-less Cheesecake Squares

I followed this recipe from PaleOMG. Except I bought a pre-made granola pie crust to save me some time. These came out fanominal. I only advise to keep them refrigerated until serving and put a few out at once, then replenish. They become mushy at room temperature. This was a no-bake recipe which is right up my alley! I’ve come to find I am an amazing no-bake baker.

One of my fave’s of the night (besides mine) was Terri’s Curry Chicken Salad. I thought this was pretty bomb. Especially because I wouldn’t expect Terri to have any culinary skills. I have tried and failed at curry recipes many times, so I was pleased at how good this was. Could have had a healthier cracker selection, but we still love you Terri.  I will definitely be making this with my Nayonaise for lunch.

Curry Chicken Salad

Curry Chicken Salad

Crunchu Curry Chicken Salad
  • 1 cup chopped cooked chicken
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped green apple
  • 1/4 cup small seedless grapes halved
  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 2 teaspoons orange juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon curry powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon prepared horseradish
  • Keeblers Townhouse original crackers

In medium bowl combine chicken, apple and grapes.  In small bowl whisk together mayonnaise, orange juice, curry powder and horseradish.
Toss mayonnaise mixture with chicken mixture, serve with Keebler Town house original crackers

Next up… Nichole’s super cute Pumpkin Cheesecake Shooters. These were light and fluffy and I loved the little portion cups!

Pumpkin Cheesecake Shooters

Pumpkin Cheesecake Shooters

Pumpkin Cheesecake Shooters

  • 3 chocolate graham crackers
  • 4 oz light cream cheese
  • 1/2 c pumpkin puree
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 T dark brown sugar(unpacked)
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 8 oz light Coolwhip

Crush crackers and set aside.

Beat cream cheese till smooth, add pumpkin, vanilla, sugar, and spices. Beat until creamy. Fold in 5 oz of Coolwhip, save 3 oz for layering.

Place in zip lock bag or piping bag. Layer, crumbs, filling, and Coolwhip, repeat.

More recipes to come!

What type of themed Holiday parties have you attended?

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Snacks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Party Review

  1. ann says:

    Bummed I had to miss the event but feel like I was there with all the pictures and recipes. Thanks for sharing and I can’t wait to try some of these new ideas. Keep them coming!!!

  2. Pingback: Recipe Recap | Share The Health

Comment

