Impromptu Dinner

Last night I planned on cooking a delicious stuffed basil chicken, but Matt had a stressful day at work and insisted we go out for dinner and a drink. Ughhh, fineeeee. I did good on my night out, I had a salad w/ scallops and balsamic dressing and one, yes ONE glass of wine. High five to me. I also said no to the bread which never happens at this particular restaurant since they have that insanely good dipping oil. I did have about 10 of Matt’s french fries..but hey, I felt like I used some serious self-control other wise. It’s certainly the little choices that add up in the long run.

I did want to share my dinner from Tuesday night though, because it was pretty exceptional. This is not the prettiest dish (surprise) but it seriously hit the spot This would be a good hangover meal. Or  just a good meal if you’re a good person who does good things and doesn’t get hungover(snoreee)…

Grilled Chicken Parm Wrap20121211_210910

  • chicken breast
  • olive oil
  • Italian seasonings (fresh if have)
  • parmesan cheese
  • sauce
  • provolone
  • Joseph’s lavish wrap
  • pickles *optional
  • portabella mushrooms *optional
  • balsamic vinegar

Drizzle chicken w/ olive oil then coat w/ a generous amount of Italian seasonings and parm cheese. Bake chicken at 350 for 30-40 minutes. Also place mushrooms in tinfoil, coat with balsamic vinegar, wrap in foil and place on a sheet. Place mushrooms in oven and bake at same temp/time as chicken.

Cut chicken into pieces, layer on to wrap, top with sauce, pickles and provolone Lay wrap gently on a griddle at mod temp, seer on ea side, less than 2 minutes.

* I intended to put mushrooms in  the wrap but there was not enough room, they were great as a side dish. I often cook them this way for salads or sandwiches. I also used fresh rosemary on the chicken which really made the dish.

Holiday Swap Cont….

Here are some more fab dishes from the Recipe Swap.

Lisa’s Chocolate Cherry MiceIMG_7179

Could these be any cuter!!

Lisa’s directions-Maraschino Cherries WITH STEMS (drained and patted dry), dip in melted chocolate. (I just melt chocolate chips in the microwave & dunk) Hershey Kiss for the face and almond slices for the ears. Stick everything together before the chocolate hardens. Then I use red gel / frosting for the eyes.

I’m going to make an adult version of these; soak in amaretto and cover in white chocolate. Oh yea, your welcome.

Sandra’s Broccoli BitesIMG_7177

Well at least someone listened to the healthy-ish rules!! These are actually one of my favorite recipes because they are practical, we love practical!! They are super simple to make and I could see myself making them for breakfast or a snack to go. Kudos Sandra!

  • 16oz pack frozen shopped broccoli
  • 1 1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup of seasoned Italian bread crumbs
  • salt and pepper to taste

Mix all ingredients

From small patties with your hands

Bake a 375 for 25 minutes, turn after the first 15 minutes. Let cool, enjoy!

Do you have a signature holiday dish??

 

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Breakfast, Dinners and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Impromptu Dinner

  1. karina says:

    ur chick sounds delic! …. im def trying those broc bites for my holiday party! thy were soooo good!!!!

  2. Jenna says:

    NYAJ!! Their bread and oil/cheese mix get me every time…including last week… :/ and I also had their salad with scallops and balsamic last Thursday, it was really good!

  3. Pingback: Food Update | Share The Health

  4. Pingback: Recipe Recap | Share The Health

  5. Pingback: Super Simple Turkey Burgers | Share The Health

Comment

