Working Through The Kinks

OK ladies AND gentlemen! I anticipate the next few days will be spent working through the kinks of the challenge. It will take you sometime to adjust to this new way of eating. You will learn what is OK and what is to be avoided.  Hopefully we can get all your questions answered over the next few days. The main thing is to go into this with a positive attitude. It is a challenge, and a little more restrictive in order to make it a challenge….but the overall idea is that this is how you should be eating on a regular basis. As a society we eat an abundance of processed goods which contributes to numerous health conditions. It is important to me that you understand why this should be a lifestyle change. It’s not all about the skinny, it’s about the healthy too. Just go into this with your best efforts, if you even follow it 70% and learn some things along the way, then I will be a happy little trainer. And you know what they say, happy trainer, happy client.

If you are a social media whore (most of you are), follow me on Pinterest. I get TONS from that site. If not, no worries. Check out the right side of the blog, under Blogroll are my top  sites to get recipes and information from. This list keeps growing. Post your comments below on the blog with any questions or ideas. Know that you do not have to be a chef to eat healthy, but you do have to cook. My meals are always quick and of few ingredients. So if all else fails, just eat what I eat. One thing I want to mention is that you don’t have to eliminate dairy, or eat everything gluten-free. If you do not have an allergy to these things then they are OK to consume in moderation. I can not eat most dairy so you will not see many recipes on here, I often use almond milk or other non-dairy items. But that does not mean you have to. You may want to read this though:)

Last nights dinner was delish! Chicken Fajitas. MG took the reins on this one, it’s one of my favorite dinners. There is something about Mexican that feels like a cheat. I opted out of all dairy and used a non-dairy shredded cheese. Mat used greek yogurt vs. sour cream and regular cheese. I advise using greek yogurt for any mayo or sour cream based recipes. Nutrition upgrade.

Toppings included pineapples and hot peppers and then all the typical stuff. I wish I had some beans to add too, next time!

Toppings

Finished product….I swear there is Chicken under there…

Chicken Fajitas

Ingredients:

  • 1lb chicken breast
  • 1 red pepper
  • 1 green pepper
  • 1 onion
  • fajita seasonings (I used spicy low sodium)
  • toppings of choice
  • Joseph’s tortilla wraps

Saute items in pan:)

 

This morning I headed for an early workout. I do not typically eat a major meal before 20130107_082702working out, so I opted for my go to pre-workout snack: a 1/2 banana smeared w/ some almond butter. 

My real breakfast came after my workout. This AM was a mix of eggs, chicken sausage, Daiya no-dairy cheese, spinach, and tomatoes. I always try to jam some veggies into my eggs since I have a hard time getting in enough veggies throughout the day. I use 2 egg whites and 1 whole egg. I also had a slice of whole wheat bread an a yummy Marylous iced coffee, black. Normally I alwayyyyyss have to use ketchup with my eggs. I did find a natural ketchup sweetened with agave, but I’m still trying to get out of the habit. Overall great meal! I could eat eggs every day.20130107_115152

First snack of the day:Snack

For lunch I plan to have the left over fajita chicken on a salad w/ lots of veggies.

What snack ideas do you plan to use on the challenge??

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dinners, Fit Tips, Snacks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Working Through The Kinks

  1. Pingback: Fancy Pants Chicken | Share The Health

Comment

