Law of Attraction

The funniest thing happened today. I stopped at Marylou’s after my workout (I’ve been on a kick lately)and there was this gentleman in there with a very positive attitude. I mean he just had the happy-to-be-alive-feeling-great attitude. Responding to the typical customer service questions with such enthusiasm!  How you doing? GREAT! My life is wonderful, I can not complain a bit, how’s yourrr day? Ordering coffee like he’s ordering Superbowl tickets. I mean the guy was shitting out rainbows! And his positive vibe just bounced off everyone in the coffee shop. Next thing you know the customer at the register is 46 cents short, the cashier says, no prob I’ll take it out of my tips, the next guy in line says no-no I’ll take care of it, someones holding the door for the next customer coming in, I’m complimenting my cashier’s hair color…we are all yelling thank you’s and have a fantastic day like we are leaving our families after Christmas dinner. I’m surprised we didn’t break out into a song and dance. Ha! I smiled the whole 3 min drive home. I mean, maybe the guy goes home and beats his wife, who knows, but he sure as heck made my day! It’s amazing the power of words and actions have on people around you. I’m a strong believer in the Law of Attraction. How a smile, wave or compliment can attract good things into your life. Think about it, we all have that friend that just sucksss the life out of us, concentrates on the negative, knocks the fact you are cutting out pizza or beer, and complains about everyyything. Screw those people. Those people suck. And I’m sure their life sucks too. Because they are negative nancies. Everyone should be like the guy in the coffee shop. I mean, I want to be his friend and I don’t even know him! It all starts with attitude. I guess I’m trying to jam a lot of lessons into one paragraph, so lets sum it up.1) Your attitude speaks volumes. 2)Surround yourself around like-minded people with the same goals as you and you will obtain them. 3) Keep positive at all times including when ordering coffee.

Nutrition Mission

I attended a Nutrition conference a couple of months ago, it was a course discussing weight loss for women in their 30’s and up. I thought for sure I would find out the big secret to get clients to slim down.  Well this woman had a BA, MBA, DR, LMNOP degree. And guess what I learned? NOTHING. Nothing that I do not already preach day in and day out at KFIT. I mean I literally could have stood up there and given the lecture myself. LITERALLY.  She was all about the 40/30/30 carbs, proteins, fats. Eliminate sugars and processed grains. Have lean proteins, good carbs and good fats every meal, yadayadayada. So, be happy to know you are working with a genius who beat the education system.  One thing she did mention was how she typically eats her meals to sustain what her activity level is. I thought this was a good explanation.  Typically as a society we eat the smallest meal in the morning, preparing us for the BIGGEST caloric burn that happens throughout the day. We eat the largest meal in the evening to prepare us for the SMALLEST caloric burn, being sleep, when our metabolism slows down. Seems backwards, right? Because it is! Think about it, how many of you are typically starving after your measly little yogurt and fruit you packed for lunch?? Our meals in the morning and lunch should be moderate meals full of nutrients and energy sources to get us through the day, while our dinners should be smaller meals because we don’t really need energy to sleep. Capisce?

Meal Time

Yesterdays lunch was OK,  I’m not really that into salads in the winter as much as I am in the summer, but it’s a good quick meal for leftovers. My friend refers to these as garbage salads. Pretty much any leftovers on a salad. You can toss beans, veggies, rice, pasta, meat, whatever you have in there! I used leftovers from fajitas plus some extra veg I had in the fridge.

Garbage SaladGarbage Salad

Snack after was strawberries and a handful of cocoa almonds. I also ate a spoonful of Teddie’s peanut butter not too long after.

20130108_083524

Dinner

Turkey Meatloaf Muffin Tins

20130107_214838

Ingredients:

Preheat oven to 375

  • 1lb lean ground turkey
  • 1T fresh rosemary and sage (or dry Italian)
  • 1/2 T minced garlic
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup grated parm cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 1/8 tsp cayenne *optional

Mix all ingredients in bowl as if you are making meatballs. Place in nonstick muffin tins, bake for 20 minutes. Serve topped w/ sauce and added cheese. Would be great over spaghetti squash!

I made extra of these so I could eat for lunch throughout the week. I don’t typically eat left overs so I REALLY pay attention to my portions when I’m cooking. If you over cook you’ll be tossing out lots of grub at the end of the week. So only make enough to feed the family. Unless you think you an re-heat and eat.

Late night snack was a bowl of popcorn sprinkled w/ parm cheese.

Breakfast

This morning I was in the mood for sweet, so I went for some Protein Pancakes. FAVE. I smeared some PB and added fresh strawberries. This meal keeps me full for quite some time.20130108_080657

Here is another pancake recipe I received from Karen H. She sent me a photo too, but let me tell you, if you think my photo’s suck…

Oat Pancakes

  • 1/2 c old fashioned oats (gluten-free – Most oats are)
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1/2c 2%(or less) cottage cheese.
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract.
  • Put in blender and mix.

Pour and cook in frying pan.  Serve w/ 2 tsp pure maple syrup.

Hope everyone’s holding up on day 2!!

Whats your toughest meal on the challenge??

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dinners, On the go, Snacks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Law of Attraction

  1. Pingback: Holy Heat Wave! | Share The Health

Comments are closed.