Dinner Fail

OK, so last nights dinner was a hot mess, no pun intended.  Here’s what happened. First off apparently 1T of  ground chipolte peppers is not equal to 1T of chipolte pepper flakes. The recipe called for flakes, I used ground..opps. Second, I have a hand-me-down crock pot that may be from my Mom’s wedding shower in ’75. So the warm is actually low, the low is high and the high is “dinners ready in 30 minutes”. Which basically defeats the purpose of a slow cooker. I’m actually frightened to leave it on when I’m not home in fear it may burn down the apartment. Hopefully if that does happen, the investigating fire chief does not read this blog. Any hoddilie, I planned to turn it to warm before leaving but I forgot and left it on low. So, it was a burnt hot mess when I got home. Ughhh..nothing bums me out more than having to throw away food! So I got nothing for ya on din-din. But here’s a scrumptious tuna recipe. Tuna for me is a love-hate relationship, I need to be in the mood for it. And I was! I paired it with some blackberries and walnuts on the side for my sweet tooth. Holy yum!

Tuna Boats20130102_145958

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 green pepper, sliced
  • 1 can tuna, drained
  • 1/2 T mustard
  • 1T nayonaise (or mayo w/ olive oil) Can sub greek yogurt
  • 1/2 T red vinegar or lemon
  • lots of pepper
  • pinch of salt
  • pinch of garlic powder
  • shredded cheddar

Mix ingredients and stuff onto peppers.. I actually found the peppers gave me heart burn! If I where to remake this meal I would use tomatoes and top with black olives and feta next time! 

For snack I made a protein shake with: 1/ banana, 1T PB, almond milk and vanilla protein. These bad boys taste like dessert.20121210_111317

Today I woke up craving pancakes. So I went for my fave Protein Pancakes, only this time I added blueberries and sprinkled some walnuts. I also topped with just a SMIDGE of agave nectar. Love, loved the added blueberries!

Blueberry Protein Pancakes

Happy weekend everyone!! Enjoy your cheat day!! But not too much:)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dinner Fail

  1. Pingback: Stretching, Mobility and Yoga Rant | Share The Health

Comments are closed.