Pad Thai Healthified

OK so I have a fantastic recipe for you. I am a huge fan of Pad Thai. Like huge. Its typically a cheat or a hangover meal for me as its loaded with carbs and fat and sugar. I got the idea of a healthified version from my genius friend Tina. Her’s looked so good I had to try it. But being a Paleo version it did not involve peanuts (peanuts are not allowed on the Paleo diet). I love me some peanuts! So I wanted a recipe that was jam-packed with peanut delishiousness. So I mixed it w/ a recipe from Family Fresh Cooking as well. The outcome=taste bud dance party. And the great thing is…the left overs are just as good if not better!Spaghetti Squash Pad Thai

Ingredients: Serves 6-8

    • 4 cups cooked Spaghetti Squash (about 1/2 a large squash)
    • 1 cups steamed snap peas
    • 3 large eggs
    • 2 large chicken breast
    • 1/2 cup light coconut milk
    • 1/2 cup natural, crunchy Peanut Butter
    • 1 tablespoon Thai Red Curry Paste
    • 1 tablespoon Tamari
    • 2 tablespoon rice vinegar
    • 2 teaspoons toasted sesame oil
    • pinch of ground Ginger
    • pinch of ground Cinnamon
    • pinch of ground Black Pepper
    • 2 T honey
    • 1/2 salted Peanuts, chopped

Extras *optional

  • extra chopped Peanuts
  • extra shredded carrots
  • unsweetened Coconut Flake
  • red pepper fakes

Steps:

  1. Bake or microwave spaghetti squash. I microwave for 15 minutes rotating every 5. MUCH quicker! Scoop out squash and toss into bowl with snap peas.
  2. Scramble eggs in a bowl with some salt and pepper. Place in frying pan and cook as if you where making in omelet. Cut into squares when done. You can completely eliminate step to decrease time and calories in meal.
  3. Steam chicken in boiling water. About 15 minutes depending on thickness of breast. Cut into to be sure it’s cooked through. Cut into squares when done.
  4. Toss remaining ingredients in bowl and whisk together for sauce.
  5. Add squash, egg and chicken to sauce and mix till fully covered, garnish w/ extra peanuts, coconut flakes and carrots.

I did not have a lot of the ingredients for this, so it was a pricey one to make. But now I’m stocked to cook various Thai creations, so worth it! And, this meal is really simple! You can opt to make it vegan and eliminate chicken and eggs. Be sure to try this one!

Side Dishing

Next up is some delicious salad…don’t turn away from the Brussels sprouts! I think you may like this even if you don’t usually eat Brussels sprouts. Its more like a coleslaw than a salad and I’ll tell you, mine went in one night! This recipe was modified from Pinch of Yum.

PhotoGrid_1360009655110

I paired mine with Turkey Burgers (obviously)

PhotoGrid_1360078021337

Ingredients: 4-6 as a side (served 2 in my house: 1 to me and 5 servings to Mat)

Ingredients
  • 1 lemon
  • 1/2 orange
  • 1 T white vinegar
  • 1 large shallot, minced
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • garlic powder
  • 3 slices cooked turkey bacon, crumbled or chopped
  • 2 dozen Brussel sprouts
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/2 cup grated Pecorino-Romano cheese

Steps:

  1. Cook and crumble the bacon.
  2. Squeeze the juice of the lemon and orange, vinegar into a large bowl with the shallots. Poor the oil in slowly as you whisk together. Season generously with salt and pepper and just a dash of garlic powder. Refrigerate until ready to use.
  3. Cut Sprouts into small slivers. I cut Brussels Sprouts w/ a knife but you may be able to find some pre-shredded in the coleslaw section. Or use a mandolin.
  4. Add the almonds, cheese, and bacon to the shredded Brussels sprouts; toss to combine. You can wait till serving to add dressing but I chose to add mine right away and let it marinate for a few hours before serving.

Late Night Snack

Recently I have been housing blueberries by the carton. They are usually real expensive but Roche Brothers has been having sales on the bigger containers and I can’t get enough. Not only are they full of antioxidants but they also aid in decreasing belly fat! Woop. Bonus. I eat them by the handful while sitting on the couch at night. I love that they are sweet and tart and in a way remind me of my favorite candy sour patch kids. I’m sitting next to a bowl of some (with watermelon) as we speak.
Fruit Mix

Whats your favorite fruit to snack on?

This entry was posted in Clean Eating, Dinners, Fit Tips, Mommy Tips, Shopping Cheap, Snacks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pad Thai Healthified

  1. Pingback: St.Pattys.Done. | Share The Health

  2. Pingback: Recipe Recap | Share The Health

Comments are closed.