The Dirt on Fruit (literally)

I want to be sure I’m being held accountable for my weekly goals so I thought I’d share this weeks workout plan.

Mon-run 4 miles check
tues- CF/strength T2B check
wed- rest day/yoga check
thur- CF
Friday-CF/Strength
Sat-rest day/yoga
Sun-10K

I don’t have tabata sprints programmed for the week but plan on starting them next week!

Also to stay on track with food goals, I’m back to planning meals for the week:

Mon- Beet and Goat Cheese Salad Delisciouso
Tues- Lemon Dill Fish and Coconut Rice- Will share recipe SO easy!
Wed-Shrimp Spring Rolls
Thur-Teriyaki Chicken Burgers
Friday- ?? I don’t like to plan Fridays because sometimes its out or random picky food at home
Sat- out to eat

I really find that planning out my workouts helps just as much as planning out my meals. It holds me to the workout and keeps me from doing too much of one thing. I just use my little notepad on my Android to make a check list. Definitely give it a try! Nothing more satisfying than organization.

On To The Fruit..

Lately I have been really into washing my fruits/veggies. And I mean washing. I’ve always done the rinse off. But I purchased a vinegar spray and wasn’t really using it until one day I put it on an apple.  Holy grossed out central! The shyte that came off of this bad boy was repulsive.  I’m not sure what was worse, the wax/film or the dirt that clung to the wax. Hello eye-opener! I’ve been eating that!! I now use this spray as a quick rinse for my apples or soak a large amount of fruits such as strawberries in a bowl of vinegar/water for about 15 minutes. 

PhotoGrid_1363318741451

Randoms

Here’s a fantastic looking Recipe from our fellow Fitter Nancy. Looks A.mazing. I will be trying for sure!!

Couscous Salad w/ Dried Cranberries

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 3/4 cup uncooked couscous
  • 1/4 c craisins/cherries
  • 1/4 c sliced dried apricots
  • 1/2 c carrots
  • 1/2 c cucumbers
  • 1/4 c green onions
  • 1/4 c pine nuts toasted
  • 3 T balsamic vinegar
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 T mustard
  • salt+pepper to taste
  • feta cheese*optional 

Steps:

  1. Cook couscous in chicken broth as directed
  2. Mix oil, vinegar and mustard. Set aside
  3. Add all ingredients in bowl, mix
  4. Add dressing, mix well
  5. Top w/ cheese, serve immediately:)

Id like to give a shout out to Sara for sending the gym  Healthy Warrior 1oo cal chia bars to try! Thanks so much! 

Hey! One last thing. Did you know we have yoga at KFIT??? You know how you complain about your knee, hip, shoulder, foot, calf, wrist, pinkie pain??? ALOT! Well mobility IS as important as sweating through a Bootcamp class. So when your limited in class because of an ailment and you don’t utilize yoga..WELL THEN I DON’T WANNA HERE IT!!!

How do you wash your fruits and veggies???

Do you plan your workouts??

This entry was posted in Clean Eating, Dinners, Fit Tips, Lunch, Mommy Tips, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Dirt on Fruit (literally)

Comment

