A Crazy (busy) Person’s Guide to Staying Healthy

By Coach Kell

There are few things that bother me more than someone who complains that they just don’t have enough time to be healthy. LAME! I seriously think that is the worst excuse in the history book, so don’t use it on me! Let me preface this by saying I don’t have kids so I can’t speak for the moms of the world, but I am a person with a lot on my plate. And I love it, most days. There are days that I want to curl up in a ball and cry. I’m sure we’ve all been there! But the one thing that always makes me feel better is sweating it out.

The fact of the matter is, busy people have to make sacrifices! Right now, I have to sacrifice bootcamp 3 nights/week for school. It is a temporary sacrifice and it will be worth it in the end, but I’m still bummed that I couldn’t compete in the hollow rock competition. Yes, I am bummed about this because I’m the 2nd most competitive person in the world…2nd to Kerrie, of course!

My lifestyle does not mean I sacrifice my workouts! I can’t make it to bootcamp, but I’ve been waking up an hour earlier to run in the mornings. I’m sacrificing some sleep, but it is worth it! I’ve been feeling great after my morning runs. I have a ton of energy throughout the day and I don’t feel bad about not getting a workout in. As a side note, I’m NOT a morning person at all. The key is to set a plan for yourself (same days/same times) and stick with it. Hold yourself accountable!

Does time really need to be a factor in healthy food decisions?? I don’t think so! 4 days out photo (6) photo (3)of the week, I step out of my house between 7:15 – 8:15am and I do not return home until 8:15pm-10:00pm (depending on the day.) So how do I maintain good health? I pack a ton of food to last my entire day! I have 2 lunch bags, filled to the brim with food. I literally walk into work with 5 bags of stuff! I also keep healthy snacks in my drawer at work so I have options. I LOVE almonds! (Target has the BEST prices on almonds!) I pack my lunch/dinner the night before. I never skip breakfast, otherwise I’ll get hungry at work and I won’t have enough photo (4)food in my lunch bags to last the whole day! Lately, I’ve been having a protein shake for dinner because it is the most convenient option for a person on the go. Kerrie mentioned it in a previous blog, but invest in a blender bottle! They’re cheap and with a couple shakes, your protein shake is lump free and ready to drink! And DRINK WATER! Invest in a water bottle and fill it up multiple times a day! Most of the time, people are actually thirsty when they think they’re hungry!

For those of you that know me on a personal level, you know I’m very type A personality.  I can be slightly neurotic (in a lovable way, of course!) I’m a huge advocate for logging food. I’m not a calorie counter, per se, but I think it is beneficial to see what you are putting into your body. Sometimes, I’ll log my main meals (breakfast, lunch, dinner) for the next day the night before because then I’m more likely to stick with those meals! I’ve been logging for over a year and I’ve maintained my current weight for the same amount of time. Coincidence? I think not!

So, the moral of the story is, yes, it would be much EASIER for me to grab a burger for dinner on my way to school every night. But it would be out of laziness. It would be easy for me to say I can’t make it to bootcamp so I’m not going to workout at all. Again, laziness. Make some sacrifices for yourself, hold yourself accountable, and plan ahead! Otherwise you’re looking at a long life full of excuses for why you never got healthy! Life is continuously busy! Plus when I maintain my healthier lifestyle during the week, I don’t feel so bad about those 2 glasses (ok, bottles) of wine I have on the weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comment

