TRX & Crock Pot Deliciousness

By: Coach Kell

As most of you know, Mel and I took a TRX class on Sunday. We had to be at the Y in East Bridgewater at 8:30am and the first thing I said to Mel when I picked her up was “I am not in the mood to do this today.” Talk about a bad attitude! We signed up for this class months ago and my motivation was not on point come Sunday morning! By the time we took our lunch break, I was so happy I signed up for this class. The instructor was REALLY into TRX, which made him an awesome instructor. He really believed everything he was selling (or teaching, in this case.) There were about 20 people in the class and everyone was at different levels. There were the step aerobics instructors, a couple of kids fresh out of college, Pilates instructors, and elite athletes, like Mel and myself. Ok, ok maybe not elite, but we held our own, thanks to Kerrie! Mel even did this crazy hand stand shoulder pushup! I wish I had a picture! More than half the day was spent running through some exercises and learning some tips on how to cue the exercises. I definitely don’t spend enough time strengthening my core so I felt a little sore the next day. I walked away from the class super excited to try out some of the stuff I learned! If you came to bootcamp on Wednesday, you know this because TRX was in the program. I always like to try things I learned right away, while it is still fresh in my mind.  Expect to see some more TRX in your future!

Anyway, a couple of other interesting things I learned at class. Most people who work in an office only spend an average of 30-60 minutes on their feet/day! Yikes! Talk about sedentary lifestyle. Also, an hour workout every day does not actually make you active. It isn’t enough movement. So if you work at a desk all day, like I do, you should walk around for a couple of minutes every hour. The last thing is my own personal vent. Are you still taking the elevator? If you are, WHY?!?!? You know people lose POUNDS by just taking the stairs instead of the elevator. Talk about motivation.

My next goal is to take a kettlebell class so stay tuned for that!

Here is a recipe I got from SkinnyTaste.com that I tweaked and it has been a huge hit in my household. I love using the crock pot in the fall and winter but I’m not one that typically uses it in the summer months, but this only cooks for 2 hours.

  • Boneless skinless chicken breast (I tend to buy thinly sliced breasts)
  • Cumin, pepper, taco seasoning, garlic powder-mix dry seasoning in a bowl (I don’t typically measure spices, but I only used a little bit of the taco seasoning, maybe a quarter of the package.)
  • Salsa Verde
  • Diced tomatoes with green chilies (I used Rotel- 10oz can)

Coat chicken with dry spice mixture and lay in the bottom of the crockpot. Pour salsa verde over chicken. Cook on high for 2 hours. Remove chicken and shred it with 2 forks. Save 1 cup of juice from pot, discard the rest. Place chicken back in pot, mix in 1 cup of saved juice, and 1 can of diced tomatoes with green chilies. Switch crock pot to warm and let sit for about 30 minutes to allow the tomato juices to soak in. Enjoy! It is especially delicious the next day! Throw it on top of some spinach and salad, avocado, cheese, and salsa. I even got a little crazy and crushed up blue corn chips and threw that on the salad. YUM!

Kell’s Crock Pot Chicken Salsa Verde

Chicken

What’s your favorite crock pot recipe?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TRX & Crock Pot Deliciousness

  1. Pingback: Go-To Weekday Recipes | Share The Health

Comment

