Wicked Easy Dessert and Dinner

That’s right, dessert before dinner. It’s backasswards day. How is November shaping up?? And the plank challenge?? How about that? I’m going to be honest, I’m a couple of days behind. BUT I’M NOT QUITTING. Once you quit at something it snowballs. You quit the challenge, you quit shaving your legs, you quit your job, you quit taking care of your kids, then they in return become burdens on society. Let’s stop the madness. Besides, no one likes a quitter. I’m in it to win it! Even though there’s no winner…well my abs I guess. So just move on and start from today if that’s the case. But don’t quit! Anyways, here’s a little something that will keep my 4 pack out of reach  for a bit longer.

Mini Apple Crumbles

I came across this recipe in Cooking Light. I suck at baking. There are lots and lots of fails in my kitchen. But this little gem, well they are idiot-baker approved. Seriously so so easy. And minimal ingredients which  is right up my baking alley. These were meant to be made in little mini-cups, hence the name. Now that would’ve been cute! But, I didn’t have them so I super-sized them. In mini form they are ~95 calories. So my jumbo’s would ring in around ~190. Still a reasonable little sweet fix if you ask me.

20131107_224111

Better than they photo!

Ingredients: makes 12 mini muffins

Filling:

  •  medium apples, peeled and diced
  • 2 T 100% maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup water

Crumbles:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cp whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/3 cup 100% maple syrup
  • 2 T cold unsalted butter

Steps:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 deg, lightly coat 12 mini cup pan.
  2. For crumbles: combine oats, flour, cinnamon and salt in bowl. Stir in maple syrup until well coated. Cut butter into small pieces, use fork to mash into mix until crumbly.
  3. For apple filling: add apples, syrup and water into small sauce pan. Cook over med heat for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Let cool slightly.
  4. Place 1 T of crumble mix into ea cup, press lightly with finger to pack crust. Place 1 T of apple mixture on top. Then top with remaining crumbles.
  5. Bake for 10-15 minutes until golden brown.
  6. Use butter knife to gently pop out and enjoy!

Bacon Wrapped Fish

Dinner was surprisingly delicious. Well, not that surprising. I mean..it’s wrapped in bacon. If your not a huge fan of fish, wrapping it in bacon will make you one. I went for a white fish because I’m sort of a fish chicken <–now that’s creative. I don’t love super fishy chicken fish (I seriously just typed that) so I tend to stick to the white because it’s less oily. But I can definitely see myself enjoying a piece of salmon prepared like this.  And holy freakin easy. Do yourself a favor. Use real bacon. I used turkey, but real bacon would be much better. I also made a :30second stuffing, but I’m going to share that with you later. Really all you need for this is fish, bacon, S&P and some lemon. Done.

20131107_205744

I was thinking the other day how I really don’t ever eat food I don’t enjoy. Like I’m never waking up and cramming hard-boiled eggs down my gullet or chia seeds (friggin gross) just because someone said I should. I really enjoy my food. I get excited to wake up and eat breakfast and eat various (extremely ungourmet) dinners. It’s one reason people really can’t sustain a diet. Because we are typically forcing ourselves to eat “good” for us food that we are not really into. You need to find healthy stuff you love. Stuff you really can enjoy. So eating doesn’t become this redundant thing with absolutely zero joy involved. And that my friend is your tip for the day.

Before I go I have to share this new obsession. A Trader Joe’s score.

20131108_104050

These things are delightful if you like cherries. Only 190 calories for 7.  SEVEN!  That is a lot because they are huge!

20131107_091745You could totally get away with 2-3 and be satisfied, but if you have zero self-control seven will certainly max out your sweet tooth.

Do you have a winter challenge?? 

What’s your favorite way to cook fish?

This entry was posted in Clean Eating, Dinners, Fit Tips, Mommy Tips, Motivation, On the go, Snacks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wicked Easy Dessert and Dinner

  1. Nichole says:

    Bentley is adorable in the background of the cherry picture!!

  2. Pingback: Go-To Weekday Recipes | Share The Health

Comment

