Some Damn Good Meatloaf

Hellowwww 60 degrees Nov 18th!!

Yesterday morning I found myself chugging Mug Root beer out of a 2 liter bottle at 8AM. This was not one of my best moments and a bit of an eye opener. After hosting my nephew’s Bday and Matt cooking dinner 2x’s last week (AKA: ordering a romantic dinner for 2 from the local Pizza joint) things just snowballed into the Root Beer episode. I love to indulge in a cheat, but every so often it digs its talons a bit too deep into me and I triple axel salchow off the healthy wagon for a few days.  Self control, it is something I lack on occasion. So my solution to that is to not purchase anything I don’t want to consume. Its safe and effective.  Don’t think your stronger than you are when you’re not. It’s OK. Anyway, I’m putting the past behind me and have prepped for a seriously healthy week. With hopefully some good recipe outcomes. There’s been a lot of flunks lately.

For now, here are two keepers (yes, just 2) from the past few weeks.

Fantastic Turkey Meatloaf

20131027_171337

I didn’t plan on sharing this but it came out so damn good. Super moist and flavorful and hello comfort meal. My only advice is make sure to size it out to how many you are serving I halved this recipe and still had meatloaf for days.

Ingredients: Serves 8-10

  • 3 cups chopped yellow onions (2 large onions)
  • 2 tablespoons good olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon fresh thyme leaves (1/2 teaspoon dried)
  • 1/3 cup Worcestershire sauce
  • 3/4 cup chicken stock
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons tomato paste
  • 5 pounds ground turkey breast
  • 1 1/2 cups plain dry bread crumbs
  • 3 extra-large eggs, beaten
  • 3/4 cup ketchup

Steps:

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.
  2. In a medium saute pan, over medium-low heat, cook the onions, olive oil, salt, pepper, and thyme until translucent, but not browned, approximately 15 minutes. Add the Worcestershire sauce, chicken stock, and tomato paste and mix well. Allow to cool to room temperature.
  3. Combine the ground turkey, bread crumbs, eggs, and onion mixture in a large bowl. Mix well and shape into a rectangular loaf on an ungreased sheet pan. Spread the ketchup evenly on top. Bake for 1 1/2 hours until the internal temperature is 160 degrees F. and the meatloaf is cooked through.
  4. Enjoy! Leftovers make a good lunch sandwich to go!

* I made a side of red bliss/cauliflower mashed. I didn’t measure but you really just replace half the potatoes in a mashed recipe with a head of cauliflower.

Honey Soy Brussels Sprouts

20131105_203011

look they glitter….

Try, try, try this recipe. Believe me, I don’t like Brussels sprouts steamed or boiled, but this way…they’re delishhhh.

Ingredients: estimated:)

  • 1 bag of Brussels Sprouts
  • 1 T honey
  • 2 T soy
  • 1-2 T sesame oil
  • 1 T sesame seeds
  • S&P to taste

Steps:

  1. Cut sprouts in 1/2
  2. On medium heat, place oil into pan and add sprouts.
  3. Add honey and soy, continue to heat until brown, I like mine extra crispy.
  4. Add seeds heat another 2-3 minutes. S&P if need
  5. Serve and eat these glorious treats.

Today my pup is 4 months old!!! Big B is growing so fast:)

20131110_192900

 Do you like Brussels Sprouts??? Whats your favorite way to cook them??

What food is your weakness?

How do you get back on track after a day of bad eating?

This entry was posted in Clean Eating, Dinners, Fit Tips, Mommy Tips, Motivation, On the go and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Some Damn Good Meatloaf

  1. Pingback: Recipe Recap | Share The Health

Comment

