Goals and Sweet Potato Sausage Soup

HAPPY NEW YEAR FRIENDS!!!! Twenty fourteen. It’s gonna be a good year! (Practicing the law of attraction here). The only thing that bums me out about a new years is thinking about how fast last year went by. And what a great fricking year it was. I loved everything about 2013. I bought a house, KFIT celebrated 2 years, I did a triathlon, Matt stuck around another year, and I became a mother to the most amazing little furball.

CAM00386Not sure what he’s more pumped about, the snow or his jacket.

Man, its gonna be tough to beat 2013. Good thing I’m extremely competitive with myself. I definitely fell short of some goals I set in the gym for 2013. No 4 pack abs or muscle ups.

summer-abs-funny

But That sure as heck doesn’t mean I wont get there. New year brings new goals. So I built a 2014 fitness bucket list. Because I love lists. Post it notes have no chance of survival in my house. This year I want to challenge myself, but I also want to enjoy every day/season/month of 2014. They go by too fast! I often tend to over commit. So this year I’m going to try too not worry about PR’ing every road race or workout…just most of them:). And focus on some fun stuff too. So my list consists of cool wants and some goals that will take hard work.  For me, I’m lucky because I own a gym and working out is pretty much my job, and I don’t have a tribe of kids or a husband or an ailing parent to cater to. So it’s eas(ier) to have all these crazy goals. But wouldn’t it be nice to set a few fitness goals for yourself this year? Or maybe one for your family, to do together. I agree, it would be.

2014 Fit List

1) Achieve Muscle Ups-strength/skill training

2) PR Iron Girl Triathlon (obviously)- swim and bike training

3) Hike Mount Washington: I’m hoping for a spring hike with YOU ladies! Maybe an overnight??  Actually I don’t care what Mountain it is as long as it’s a tough one:)

4)Try Paddle Boarding

5)Run a 5k with Matt

6) Yoga a minimum 1x/week

7) Crush a Spartan/Tough Mudder

8) PR the Harpoon 5 miler

This list makes me look forward to the year. And nice weather! But let’s not wish it away. Time does that quick enough for us.

As for the recipe. I got it from Matt’s Aunt who found it in a magazine. It’s a long list, which usually I run from. But don’t run, come back. I made it and it came out great. It’s sweet and spicy and super flavorful. I ate it all and never took a picture. So just know its good. And make it. Like a big pot of it.

Sweet Potato & Sausage Soup

Ingredients:

  • 4 T unsalted butter
  • 2 med sweet potato peeled and cubed
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 3/4 lb Sweet Italian sausage (I used chicken sausage)
  • 3/4 lb Spicy Italian sausage
  • 1/2 C chopped celery
  • 1/2 C chopped onions
  • 2 pints of grape tomatoes
  • pepper to taste
  • 12-14 sprigs of thyme, stripped, leaves chopped
  • 1 T hot paprika ( I used regular)
  • 5 garlic cloves
  • 2 cups white hominy, drained- this is like a corn, but I didn’t know what it was at time so added extra beans.
  • 2 big handfuls of Kale or Spinach
  • 1 can of cannellini beans ( I used 2)
  • 4 cups of low sodium chicken broth

Steps:

  1. Melt butter in pan with cinn, nut and salt. Add sweet potatoes, cook 3-4 min, turn and cook 2 min. Set aside.
  2. Add oil to pan, cook sausage till brown. Add veggies, cook till warm.
  3. Add remaining seasonings,  cook on stove @low-med heat for 6 hours. Can opt for crock pot, low for 6-8 hours.
  4. Enjoy!

What are your 2014 Resolutions???

Will You Hike with Me:)???

This entry was posted in Clean Eating, Dinners and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Goals and Sweet Potato Sausage Soup

  1. Pingback: Recipe Recap | Share The Health

  2. Pingback: Easy Cock Pot Short Ribs for 2 | Share The Health

  3. Pingback: 25 Ideas for Your Prep Day | KFIT Bootcamp

Comment

