Monday Motivation

Hey there! Happy Monday! Today we have a guest post from our very own Heather Souza. I asked Heather if she would be willing to share her journey with all of you. Of course she was pumped! As a single mother of 3 boys with very little assistance from anyone, I think her success story is so inspiring. I also love that her own inspiration came from another KFITTER’s success.

A Little About Heather

Heather has been with us since the very beginning.  When she started, she was what I like to call “a hot mess”. I’m not just talking about her overall health. Her physical limitations were enough to discourage most clients. At the time Heather could not lunge without losing balance, she could not sit up or plank, jogging was not an option and her squats..oh man her squats. She started out half heartedly. You always know when someone is there because they need to be vs. they want to be. I remember it so well when she made the turn in the right direction (which she talks about below).  As a trainer we know this is a decision one needs to make on their own.  No matter how much you spoon feed them all the reasons they need it. It has to come from within.  At that moment, it became a personal  mission of mine to keep her on board. Something we never talked about, but I know she is well aware of:) I was never aggressive with Heather. I find if you give someone 10 things they can’t do, it sure as hell isn’t going to build their confidence.  So there were lots of modifications. And lots of nagging cuing on my end (OK she still gets nagged a little). And slowly but surely…Heather got stronger and stronger. Iv’e watched her run her first road race and overcome her fear of box jumps (again and again). All the while, she never complained about a thing. The determined ones never do.  

536910_496329437090804_794381942_n

Heather’s Journey

I have struggled with my weight my entire life. I was at my heaviest after having my two youngest sons, I weighed 243 pounds and wore a size 22-24! I decided to join the gym. I tried to make an effort to go consistently but I never stuck with it. I decided I would begin walking, but again, I was never consistent so I never saw or felt a big difference.

IMG_320580803694780_1

Several years ago a few of my friends chose to have gastric bypass surgery. I was happy for all of them but knew this was not something I was interested in doing myself. However, I refused to be the only fat one, lol.

IMG_320612189838527_1

My close friend, Vikki, told me about a boot camp that she attended. I decided to try it out. I really liked it but again, was not fully committed to it. Even though I busted my butt at boot camp, I would go home and eat and drink everything that was bad for me. I was basically wasting my time, effort, and money. I also realized that I could not afford it, so I stopped going.293637_239997742723976_1118060786_n

Track throw back when Coach Mel still had boobs

In October 2011 I saw a transformation picture of a beautiful girl named Karina. Karina had lost all her weight through KFIT. I decided after seeing her success I needed to figure out a way to go back and commit 100%.

Being a single mom with three very active boys it is hard to find time for myself. However, I came to realize how important it is to have time for me. My boys are so understanding and supportive of boot camp, which is awesome! I quit KFIT once before because I did not think I could afford it but I have realized it is worth every penny. To make budgeting easier I have the money debited directly out of my account.

 

75913_454397557950659_481357317_n

Since returning to KFIT and committing to change, I have lost 50 pounds and 4 pant sizes! I am finally in “One-derland”! While working out is great I have also completely changed my eating habits. I have given up most foods with sugar as well as anything white. I do my best to stay away from fast food and junk food. I eat a lot more fruits and vegetables and no longer eat red meat (mainly because my body no longer tolerates it). I have also cut down on my alcohol intake, margaritas used to be my favorite!

IMG_321458206127787

I have changed my whole frame of mind when it comes to exercising and eating. I love working out. I have finally found an exercise routine that I can honestly say I enjoy. My lifestyle has changed completely and I look and feel fabulous!

IMG_320870572136681

KFIT has definitely changed my life! I am addicted to the workout. I truly believe exercising is good for your mind, body, and soul. I am happier and healthier than I have ever been before. Along the way I have made some amazing and supportive friends. KFIT is like a little family. Committing to KFIT is one of the best decisions I have ever made for myself. I am forever grateful to my number one coach Kerrie. She is the bestest! <–awww,  samsies xoxox!

IMG_320859883871765I hope Heather’s amazing journey to a healthier life will motivate you to do something healthy for yourself this week!

Thank you for sharing your story with us! We look forward to your continued success!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday Motivation

  1. Denise says:

    What an amazing story of hard work and dedication. You look amazing! You are truly an inspiration!

  2. Kelley says:

    Heather, congratulations! I love when I hear people talk about making positive changes and become happier in their life 🙂

Comment

