Preppin’ Ain’t Easy

Hello peeps! Hope you got to enjoy some of the sunshine this lovely weekend. The nice weather is (almost) upon us and it’s about time to soak up all the glorious things that Summer has to offer. Like ice cream….

funny-kid-eating-ice-cream

OK…no ice cream yet. We have a challenge to finish.

Challenge or not, we all know how important prepping is in regards to maintaining healthy eating habits. If you don’t…then get your head out of your butt. Its essential (food prepping and not having your head up your butt). Sometimes it can be quite the tedious task. With the nice weather, no one wants to be slaving over the stove whipping up egg muffins for days.  But rather than putting it off, try to keep the prep party simple. This weekend, I  just did the essentials so I wasn’t glued to the kitchen. It still set me up for a good week.

Keep it simple

Step 1) Eggs.  A staple in our house. Tossing these bad boys on the stove is a 10 minute job. Put the water on and you’re good to head on to another task. Here’s a tip: drop some oil or salt in the boiling water and it helps the shells come off easy.

CAM01059

Step 2) I tossed a few sweet potatoes in the microwave, for a quick starch on hand. I love the cute little potatoes at Trader Joes. They help to keep my carbs portioned.

CAM01057

Step 3) was fruit and veggies. I chopped up a TON.  I graze on fruit all day. I like to have it after a meal as a little sweet treat.

CAM01063 (1)

At the end of the week, anything that looks like it’s on the way out, I toss in a bag and freeze to add to fresh protein smoothies.

CAM01058

I also love these mini-cucs. I put them in white vinegar and they get better through the week.CAM01055

Step 4) After that it was trail mix. Just toss your liking’s in a Tupperware. Lately I’ve been loving golden raisins and cashews. Great to have near by to keep you from getting hangry.

CAM01054

Step 5) Last, I cut up some protein to add to sandwiches and salads. Also, later that night I added some extra meat to the grill to have for the week.

CAM01056

There’s something about a stacked fridge that makes me gitty. Thirty minutes, all said and done, and I got to go enjoy the rest of the day. AKA: rake the yard.

CAM01061

Here’s a sweet recipe I tried last week.  So fresh and so good! It’s perfect for pairing with grill food, sub it in for the not so healthy pasta salads.

Pineapple & Black Bean Salad

CAM01017

Ingredients

  • 2 cups pineapple, chopped in small cubes
  • 1 cup canned black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 cup canned sweet yellow corn, rinsed and drained
  • 1 cup tomato, chopped in small cubes
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped in small cubes
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped in small cubes
  • 1/4 cup red onion, minced
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, chopped finely
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lime juice
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • * I can see myself adding avocado next time!

Instructions

  1. Mix all chopped ingredients for in a large bowl, add lime juice, add salt and pepper to taste. Set aside to let the juices combine together.
This entry was posted in Clean Eating, Dinners, Fit Tips, Lunch, Mommy Tips, Motivation, On the go, Snacks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment

