Clean Cheats Volume 1

Happy Tuesday everyone!

images (2)

Does anyone else find they have lack of an appetite in the Summer? For some reason the heat kills my desire for most healthy foods I normally love.  Not a bad problem you think? Hell yes it is. It leaves me wanting Froyo and Coronas all day. I need food. Healthy food. And lots of it! To stay energized, motivated and happy. Happy Kerrie rules. On a normal clean schedule, there’s a lot of things I typically avoid. But with my lack of appetite, I need to make these healthy foods more desirable to get the nutrients I need. So to keep things appealing, some of my eats become clean cheats. Not terrible choices, but not super-duper clean. I’ll add a little something I may not normally eat to spark my taste buds. Here are some things on the plate the past few weeks.

Lettuce Wraps (of any kind)

20140702_202657These are light and fresh and a fun summer dinner. There are so many ways to mix it up. Here I did a Thai style with ground turkey, peanuts, cilantro, fresh veggies and a bunch of Trader Joe’s Spicy Peanut Sauce.20140715_113745

Shaved Cheese Steak Mushroom

20140707_204648I have such an obsession with my grilled portabella mushrooms. And this just takes it to the next level. I use Trader Joe’s lean shaved beef and some shredded cheese. 

BLT’s

20140630_205420 (1)Nothing say’s summer like a BLT!! I made some chicken cutlets for this bad boy, where I used almond flour instead of bread crumbs. I also used a tad of yogurt ranch dressing from Trader Joe’s vs. mayo. You can certainly keep it cleaner with grilled chicken. 

Boiled Eggs and Guac

20140715_113710

There’s nothing really bad here! These are just great for a quick protein source.  I use that fabulous Trader Joes 1/2 the fat guac. It’s ridiculous. ( Seriously, Trader Joe’s needs to sponsor me)

Fruit Sundae

20140715_114633

I need, want, have to have ice cream in the Summer. But I can’t. So to kick this craving I’ll whip up a little fruit, cool whip, nuts and sprinkles in a bowl. It really hits the spot without the calorie or dairy overload.

I try to keep it 80/20 most of the time. Now and then MG and I will eat a whole turtle pie in 2 days… AKA: last night. So this is a great way to keep me in check. I try to keep most meals squeaky clean (no dairy, added sugar, marinades etc) and dinner or a snack clean-ish.

 What’s your favorite Summer clean cheat meal/snack??

 

 

Image | This entry was posted in Clean Eating, Dinners, Fit Tips, Lunch, Motivation, On the go, Snacks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment

