My Obsession with HomeGoods and Fish Tacos

Hey there!! Did you know this Sunday is FALL back. Don’t forget!

So I’m obsessed with all things HomeGoods. Besides all their great decor, I absolutely love shopping their random food aisle. I always find the coolest stuff. I was on my way back to look for this amazing oatmeal I had purchased,  and came across a whole bunch of fun goodies. Which totally inspired Fish Tacos (see why in a minute). Here are some cool things I picked up!

20141016_081621Great Oatmeal blend!

20141016_114228Dairy free dark chocolate! YUM!

20141016_104107Healthy Pancake blend, these were so good!

20141016_104025I heart everything Buffalo!

20141016_103845I loved this! Instead of having to make a whole box, you can portion out.

20141016_103636 20141016_103629Tons of cool spices and fancy salts! Totally make a dish!

20141020_151650

This little jar inspired my Fish Tacos. I saw this and the wheels started turning….

 Cleaned Up Fish Tacos

So Fish Tacos are amazing. Just pure amazing. But typically fried and smeared in a creamy mayo sauce. So I cleaned them up a bit. I even think maybe a kid would house these. I’m not sure, because kids are weird..but I think with a little less spice they would like ’em.

20141020_182600

 

Ingredients: Feeds 2 grown people

  1. 1lb of white fish-I used haddock
  2. 1/2 red pepper, chopped
  3. 1/3 bermuda onion, diced small
  4. 1 cup of coleslaw blend
  5. 1/2 cup of red wine vinegar
  6. Spicy seasoning blend- I used Whole Food tequila lime seasoning
  7. Corn tortillas or tortilla of choice
  8. *optional garnishes: Hot sauce, avocado, lime, cilantro, tomato

Sauce:

  1. 2 T jam above
  2. ~4 T greek yogurt
  3. 1 T chopped cilantro
  4. fresh squeezed lemon
  5. S&P

*Measurements are approximate. Took a few finger dips to get ratio right.

Steps:

  1. Mix all ingredients for sauce and place in fridge.
  2.  Chop the red peppers, onion and mixed it with the coleslaw blend with red vinegar, salt and pepper. Place in fridge.
  3. Season fish with a little olive oil and rub on spices.
  4. Place on skillet med-hi heat, about 6 min on onside, then flip.  Dont’ worry if it breaks! Some fish will stay together better than others. Once done cooking I broke all the fish up with a fork.
  5. Heat up tortillas as directed.
  6. Top with sauce, coleslaw blend and any garnishes of choice! Serve it up hot!

20141020_191408

 

Hey just remember…it all starts with Halloween candy!!! The downward spiral! If you indulge, make it a day ONLY and move on. Don’t let the sugar bug take over the next 3 months of our life. Just don’t do it!!! Get rid of it. Feed it to your husband, co-workers, best friends. Just don’t do it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Obsession with HomeGoods and Fish Tacos

  1. Jen Lawrence says:

    I’ve tried that oatmeal ! Love it!

Comment

