Member Spotlight: Justine

Today’s Member Spotlight is from our friend Justine. Justine came to us in February 2014 inspired by another friend who had joined KFIT.  She was a dream client from the get go. Motivated, determined, a fast learner and never a single complaint! Funny how these characteristics seem to be true with many of our success story clients! She works hard every class, and follows instruction to to a fault. During our last Challenge Justine  took 1st place and only had 1 single cheat in the whole 8 weeks. Justine we are so proud of what you have accomplished over the past year and look forward to seeing what 2015 brings!

Justine 2

For as long as I remember I have had a membership to a gym, but it wasn’t until recently I realized that I just wasn’t doing enough and my weight was creeping up. I wasn’t challenging myself physically. But I didn’t know that at the time. As I got older it was harder to lose weight. I didn’t have the motivation to push myself.

First I tried a 30 day fitness challenge at a gym and extended my membership for an additional 30 days. I liked the concept but the program did not last.

It wasn’t until I started at KFIT in February of 2014 that I learned I had been going about it all wrong. I was taught the correct way to use the equipment, the right techniques, how to maximize my efforts and how to avoid injury. I was motivated by the friends and coaches I met and after a few months I was encouraged by them to sign up for a team food challenge. Although I had already lost a few inches and pounds by then, this is where I learned that I didn’t have to starve myself to lose weight. Most days it was a struggle to meet the calorie or protein goals recommended. I thought I knew how to eat healthy, but obviously not. As the weight and inches started disappearing the more driven I became. IMG-20141218-WA0044

 Justine looking fit and toned! 

I have never been a runner, therefore had never run a road race. Thanks to an initial push by some of the members at KFIT and Coach Mel, not only have I run several 5Ks but I also ran my first 5 mile road race in November. That push along with all the encouragement was exactly what I needed.

20141025_100010

 

After 8 months I lost 30 lbs. and had reached my goal for weight loss.I try to get to the gym or do some form of exercise 5 days a week but I don’t get discouraged if I only make 4 days. When I find myself off track, I quickly get back on track, although sometimes with a little help from the friends I have met at KFIT. I set reachable goals for myself in a reasonable time period.

I have learned it is never too late to get yourself back on track. But don’t procrastinate any longer. Try a buddy system for motivation and to help keep you accountable. Don’t think you have to wait until tomorrow to get back on track, do it right now. Start by making better choices at your next meal. It is a great feeling when you have completed your workout. You don’t have to wait until next week to “start fresh”. Remember, results don’t happen overnight. But they also won’t happen if you don’t start to do something about it.images

 

 

This entry was posted in Fit Tips, Motivation, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment

