My Year In Review: Coach Mel

For those of you who do not always get the pleasure of attending a 5:30 am with Coach Mel and like me would rather eat shards of glass… here’s a little look into her personal and fit accomplishments of 2014.

I can’t believe we closed the door on another year.  And what a year it has been for me.  So if you’d all indulge me a little, I’d like to take a trip back through this past year and note some of the highlights (dim the lights, grab some popcorn, and cue the slides):

I learned to golf for the first time while on a trip to Florida.  For those of you who know my husband, if he’s not working in the yard or watching the Patriots, he’s out golfing.  So it was nice to get out there and do something that he enjoys so much.  However, I made the mistake of posting this picture on Instagram and still haven’t lived down the fact that I was wearing a “skort”:

IMG_20140329_182517

This year was also the year that I conquered my fears and completed my first triathlon.  This was a huge accomplishment for me.  I was all set to do this event last year but backed out at the last minute because I was so nervous about the swim.  Don’t get me wrong, I know how to swim.  If the doggie paddle was an Olympic event I’d definitely take Gold.  But it was my skill level along with the distance that frightened me.  I was so disappointed in myself for quitting without even trying it.  So this year I was determined.  And with zero (and I mean zero) time spent training on the swim I registered and prayed for the best and it was one of the best things I’ve ever accomplished.  I could not have done it without the support of all the girls that were there especially one of my best friends Kerrie Gotell.  She not only reassured me the weeks, days, hours leading up to the event that I would do fine, but she stayed with me the entire swim to make sure I was ok and got out alive.  It was her support and belief in me that got me to conquer one of my fears and I’m so grateful to her.

1075366_10152252320842957_1931173784650402170_o

And then there was Chrissy Villa.  This was also her first triathlon and she was getting a little nervous the closer it was getting to her heat.  When a woman came up to her and gave her a bracelet that read “She believed she could so she did” and told her she was going to do great.  And you know what Chrissy did, she turned around and gave that bracelet to me (no doubt because I was in hysterics when I saw the swim distance).  I wore it the whole time and just when I felt like giving up I just looked down at those words and kept on going.  So thank you Chrissy for that!

I’m so proud of all the girls for achieving this amazing goal and thank you for all your support!  I love this photo below.  We all look so calm you’d never know me and Chrissy were bawling our eyes out 2 minutes before!  This picture also makes me sad because that was probably the last time I had abs (insert sad face):

10382273_10152252319937957_730224294435362772_o

Following the tri was the Spartan Race where I’m pretty sure we all almost died.  Not only during the race but on the drive in where we witnessed a hit and run and a police chase ending with a man jumping off the bridge.  The Spartan made the triathlon look like a stroll in the park.  Probably one of the most physically challenging things I’ve ever done.  Of course we all went there thinking it was a 3 mile obstacle course and it was actually 5.  But we did it.  We did it together and supported one another the entire way.  I had my hands in places on some of your bodies that I’m pretty sure in some states we’d be considered married.  But it was worth it all because it felt so good when we were done!

10435834_10152276843637957_5219895655578866778_n

And then last, but certainly not least, there was my wedding.  The highlight to my year and beyond.  It was such a special day that we got to share with the closest people in our lives.  There are so many things I could say about the day but I don’t want to bore you with all the details (PM me if you want to see all 2800 pictures).  I will however just show a few photos that I think portrait just how special and amazing it was (in no particular order):

IMG_0001 (1) IMG_1510 IMG_1550 IMG_1567 IMG_1599 IMG_1999 IMG_6169 IMG_6305

Well, I think I’ve bored you enough.  For the 3 readers that stuck with this whole post, I thank you!  But seriously, it was a great year filled with so many fun times and milestones.  I look forward to 2K15 and all the fun and memories it has in store.  Happy New Year!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Year In Review: Coach Mel

  1. danielle says:

    Love Coach Mel!!! Such a beauty inside and out!!!

Comment

