Spring Cleaning

What is it about Spring that makes us want to clean and organize everything?  Probably because if you’re like me you’ve hibernated all winter and cleaned just good enough that if you had company over they wouldn’t be scared.

blog 1

I love this time of year.  The days are getting longer.  The sun is getting stronger.  And even though it isn’t warm yet, the fact that the sun is still out at 6pm just makes me feel so alive.  So when I start to feel like this I get the urge to clean, organize, and redecorate every room in the house.  This drives my husband crazy because you just never know what you’re going to come home to.  What once was the kitchen could now be the living room, lol!  Well ok, I don’t go to that extreme but I am not far off.  I have a tendency to get a case of cleaning ADD.  And next thing you know I have started something in every room and what I’ve really done is just created myself more work, more mess, and decreased my desire to want to do it anymore.  So I’ve learned to tackle one room at a time or one thing at a time.  Like wash all the curtains.  Or clean all the blinds.  Even things that seem like small tasks still make me feel accomplished.  That is until my husband comes home and doesn’t notice that I’ve brushed the rugs out with a comb so that all the fibers are going the same way.  I mean after all it is his fault that they got messed up in the first place.

blog 2

Spring is also a good time to get your life back on track too because Summer will be here before you know it (we hope).  It’s been a long winter and as much as we shoveled and felt like we got our share of exercise in by doing that.  We also ate our share of carbs and sweets.  What is it about bad weather that makes me want to whip up buffalo chicken nachos and brownies?!?  Organize your week by carving out time for the gym and putting it in your calendar so there are no excuses.  Plan your meals out and spend time meal prepping for the week.  These are all things we promote at KFIT so I’m not telling you anything you don’t already know.  And if these are areas you struggle with talk with your fellow kfitters and find out what works for them or what tips they might have.  And just like with our homes, don’t try and tackle everything all at once and feel great about your accomplishments whether big or small.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comment

