Member Spotlight: Debbie

Hi Friends! Happy Monday! Since it is our Birthday month, we wanted to honor the most important part of KFIT,  and that is our members! Today’s Member Spotlight is from Debbie Driscoll.  Deb just had her KFIT one year anniversary! She is primarily an early bird, so some of you may not have had the pleasure of meeting her.  She is such a hard worker and constantly pushes herself and others in the class.  She embodies so much of what we try to promote in the gym.  We are honored to get to coach her and to have her share her story.  We hope she will inspire you! 

11295648_992775800734630_4126924555364004938_n

I started KFIT in May of 2014. I decided to join because I was going through a tough time in my life. I had just lost my Father the month before to pancreatic cancer, and my Mother to ovarian cancer and Mother in law to lung cancer less than 2 years prior. I was also battling the dreadful “menopause”. I needed to do something for me; to help me get back on my feet again.

I had always worked out. I even taught aerobics at one time. Prior to joining KFIT I was taking spin classes 3-4 times a week. I just did not feel like it was changing my body. Anyone who is going through or has gone through menopause knows that your body just starts morphing into someone you don’t recognize. No matter how hard I tried I just could not get those abs back. It was discouraging.

KFIT is a total body workout where you go at your own pace. The routines are fun, challenging and different every day. I was getting results here that I was never getting anywhere else. The coaches are truly incredible people. They are committed, compassionate, encouraging, knowledgeable and so much fun. Other gyms I went to in the past you could tell the instructors, not all, but most just went through the routine. You were just another member. Well, here at KFIT you are more than a member to these coaches. They truly care about you; your goals, your success and helping you get there. They don’t leave you to do this on your own, they’re right there by your side encouraging you, giving you advise, suggestions etc. I cannot say enough about the members here. There’s no competiveness or feeling like you don’t “fit in” Here we are a team who cheer each other on.  I feel this has a lot to do with the coaches setting the tone. I’ve met some great people who have truly helped me get to where I am. One person I need to call out is Justine England Mahoney. Justine took me under her wing the first day I started. She has helped me to push myself and challenge myself inside and outside the gym. She helped me start running outside to prepare for my first ever road race which happened to be a 5 miler. She stayed right by my side the day of the race. I don’t think I could have done it without her encouragement. She is just one example of how the members treat each other.

11110501_991097577569119_2249667343680601295_n

This is just one major accomplishment for me since joining Kfit. I also lost 10 pounds shortly after joining and I’ve managed to keep it off. I have my abs back and feel more confident. Anyone who knows me knows that I am very self-conscious and very insecure. So, this is a big step for me. I am also going to try my first ever triathlon. Something prior to joining I would have been so insecure to consider trying.

1912519_917809898276087_5256328813469049130_n

For anyone who is on the fence about joining KFIT Bootcamp, don’t let the word “bootcamp” scare you. This is the best decision I’ve ever made. When you walk through the doors of this gym you are walking into an extended family.

Thank you Deb for sharing your story! We are so proud of all you have accomplished and can’t wait to see what the future brings!

This entry was posted in Motivation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment

