Member Spotlight: Lisa

Today’s spotlight is from 4:30pm-er Lisa. We chose Lisa because she is such a hard worker and we are so impressed with how far she has come in such a short time!  We also know many people could relate to her story. Life events can derail you from taking care of yourself, and before you know it, years have gone by.  We hope it inspires you to take control. Thanks for sharing your experience Lisa, we are so glad you chose KFIT!

Lisa’s Story

PhotoGrid_1447181581718

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I started KFIT just about four months ago. So I guess I am a newbie. I knew almost immediately this was the place for me. Fitness has always been a big part of my life, 25 years ago I was a personal trainer. Unfortunately, that fell to the side after getting married and having kids. But I continued to workout in one way or another, step aerobics, weight training, yoga, you name it I did it. My downward spiral started when I got frozen shoulder, it was so painful, I could barely lift my arm. Working out was out of the question. I avoided getting it looked at thinking it would just go away, it didn’t, and I suffered for months and gained over 20 pounds. Finally, I got it taken care of and joined a basic gym thinking in a few months I would be back to normal. Yeah…no! Apparently weight doesn’t come off very easy once you’re over 40. I kept at it for over a year with no change, so I quit, got discouraged and gained more weight.

I saw Kfit on Facebook after I had been wallowing in self pity for a few more months. I said to myself this was it, it’s right up the street, no more excuses, I need to pick myself up and gain control again and remember how much I loved working out and being in great shape. I am oh so glad I did! Best decision I have made in a long time. I have lost over 10 pounds, clothes that I haven’t worn in years fit me again and most importantly I feel great and that love of fitness I had back in my 20’s has returned. I also ran my first 5K! If you had told me a year ago I would be running a 5K this year, I would’ve thought you were crazy. Coaches are great! The women are like family. I always look forward to going to class. It’s just such a great place, I can’t express it enough.

PhotoGrid_1447181812175

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comment

