Tips for Surviving Summer Running

Jeez, it’s HOT out there! And when it’s this hot outside, most outdoor workouts are a real challenge, especially when it comes to running. Personally, I’ve struggled through a lot of my runs this summer. The heat and humidity make it almost unbearable at times, but I don’t want to skip my runs altogether just because of the heat. Instead, I keep a few things in mind to help me survive summer running, and, with a bunch of local races (more info below) on our KFIT calendar, I wanted to pass them along to help make your warm weather runs a little cooler!

suck it up

Run EARLY 

Rise ‘n’ shine, it’s running time! One of the best ways to beat the heat is waking up bright and early to run before the temperatures rise. The cool morning will make running feel quite a bit better than running midday. And when you’re planning your runs, be sure to check the weather report for the upcoming week. Some days might be cooler in the early morning (or around dusk), so try to plan your runs then.

Pick a shady route

Instead of running my usual 3-mile loop on hot asphalt near my house, I move my run to cooler routes, like at Pond Meadow Park, where it’s semi-shaded or to routes that go by the water, where it’s typically cooler and breezier. Plus, the change of scenery always gives me a nice boost of motivation!

Wear a visor

You probably already know that you should wear light colored, moisture-wick clothing for hot, summer runs, but adding a lightweight visor can also keep you cool. It’ll help block the sun from your face and allow heat to escape through your head– both of which will cool you off.

Run through some sprinklers

If your neighbors water their lawns in the morning or early evening, be sure to plan your running route to pass by their house so you can cool off a little bit. As long as you don’t run over their grass, I’m sure they wouldn’t mind! And, of course, it’s a fun way to cool off. It might even help you run longer and farther!

Bring water with you

Staying hydrated is especially important during summer runs, so I drink extra water before, during, and after my runs. I also carry water with me on my longer runs or I make route go by my house or car where I can store water to drink during my run. Water is a necessity for summer running!

run_weymouth_race_series

Want to know what these local races are all about? Well, the KFIT crew is participating, so you’re going to want to get in on the fun! The Run Weymouth Race Series includes three road races with the first one kicking off this coming Thursday evening, July 16th at 6:30pm at Pond Meadow Park. Each one concludes with some post-race celebrations, so it’ll be a great time for all. Run one, two, or three races! We’d love for you to be part of the KFIT team! Plus, having a race on your calendar is a great way to stay motivated this summer and into the early fall!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comment

