Member Spotlight: Kathy

Today’s Member Spotlight is in honor of Kathy. She has made such an impressive transformation in the year and 1/2  she has been with us. When Kathy started, she was ready for change. She dove into the workouts day in and day out. As tough as it was at the time, we knew she was not going to give up. She took part in a gym Nutrition Challenge, that helped her overhaul her diet,  and improve her health in a major way.  What we love about Kathy is that her transformation has been far more than the number on the scale.  Kathy has incorporated her healthy lifestyle into everything she does. She is taking on challenges she never has before. And she is able to do it alongside her husband and children. Running road races and hitting up a KFIT class together. I’m sure we can speak for Kathy in saying that this has been the greatest reward for her.10401507_749362625120816_4910630355335856388_n1560509_856826751060428_6419902253795154384_n

 In a week she will take part in her very first Triathlon. Which she is beyond prepared for. We know you will have the most amazing (snake free) experience. And we are so happy to be a part of this journey with you! 

Kathy’s StoryPicMonkey Collage

I joined KFIT in April 2014. My younger sisters Eileen and Noreen encouraged me to join. I was initially scared to join because I would see how spent both of them looked after their KFIT workouts. Noreen was a runner who ran in college so if KFIT kicked her ass I was nervous it might kill me. The reality was that if I stayed the course I was on that obesity would kill me. I had reached my heaviest non-pregnant weight and needed to make some changes in my life.  My sisters told me not to worry that not everyone at KFIT was the same fitness level and that coach Kerrie would modify the exercises and weights. Both my sisters told me that they thought I would like KFIT because the exercises were challenging and every class was different. They also thought that since I was athletic through high school and a competitive person by nature that the KFIT program would encourage me to be competitive with myself and they were right. I try to challenge myself each time I go to class.

 

KFIT is different from other gyms. I had tried other gyms in the past. I had no problem using a bike, elliptical or treadmill for 30-60 minutes but I never saw any changes. The combination of weights, cardio and high intensity intervals will get you in shape if you challenge yourself and if you push yourself out of your comfort zone. Individualized nutrition advice is available to help with weight loss. What makes KFIT special and what makes KFIT work for so many of us women are the intangibles. KFIT is more than a gym it is a community. Coaches Kerrie, Mel and Kell are supportive. The members are welcoming and encouraging of one another. There is a KFIT Clean Eats Group on Facebook that I find inspiring. Members will post nutrition advice and will share recipes. There are gym fitness and nutrition challenges to participate in which I love because they keep me motivated. 

 It is hard for me to believe the changes that have occurred in my body the past 15 months.  While I am still not at my goal, I am almost 40 lbs lighter than when I joined KFIT.  My total cholesterol has dropped 25 points, HDL cholesterol (good cholesterol) increased by 11 and LDL cholesterol (bad cholesterol) has dropped 31 points.  What I most  proud of is that I feel strong and fit.  I am able to join my husband and daughter on runs.10548063_10205749917040346_3968113453349050556_o

I ran my first 5K in June 2014 in Harwich and I ran the same race this past June almost 5 minutes faster.   It is really fun to be able to run road races with family friends and other KFIT members and to enjoy a beer after the race. My future goal is to be able to run under a 10 minute mile. I have just signed up for my first sprint triathlon.  If someone told me 18 months ago I would be racing in a triathlon I would have thought they were crazy.  I will be racing with a group Gals for Cal to raise money for the Jett Foundation to directly fund muscular dystrophy research.  If you have deep pockets feel free to make a small donation.  http://www.firstgiving.com/fundraiser/KathyFewerCorbo/gals-for-cal-2015

  • Please help support our KFIT chick with a $5 donation:)

I would encourage any women considering KFIT to come join us for a free class. You will find a welcoming gym. You will find women of all ages, shapes, sizes and fitness levels. You will meet some remarkable, strong women. And you may just make the best fitness decision of your life.

Thank you Kathy so much  for sharing your story! We know this transformation is not over:) We look forward to watching your continued progress!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Fat vs. Muscle, Motivation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment

