Goal Check: I Completed a Triathlon!

Hi ladies! Coach Kell here. We’re closing in on the end of the year; how are your 2015 goals coming along?!? I successfully crossed a major goal off my 2015 list, and even though it was not easy at all, I’m so glad I stuck it out!

Back in January, BEFORE Boston got hit with 10000 feet of snow, we had a little ‘Fit for Life’ challenge at the gym. One of the requirements for the challenge was to write down some short-term and long-term goals for 2015. I just took a look at my goals and I’m doing pretty good! Some goals definitely fell to the wayside (yoga) but overall, I’m happy with my progress this year.

image

So here we go. Goals accomplished to date!

Goal 1:

Strict Pull-ups – Done and Done! I did my first strict PU in OG back in February and now I’m up to 8 strict pull-ups (not linked) on a good day. I’m going to continue to work this goal and hopefully start linking them.

Goal 2:

Crossfit Open – Survived this one…barely, but I did survive!

Goal 3:

Improve kipping moves – Still a work in progress. My kipping pull-ups have come a long way. I can link 10 kipping pull-ups and I’ve completed a ton of workouts without a band this year including FRAN!

Goal 4:

Finally, the BIG 2015 goal was a triathlon and on September 19th, I was able to cross this one off the list for good when I completed the Pilgrimman Triathlon. It was not easy and I don’t see myself ever doing another one, but I can now say that I did it! I have to send a giant thanks to my tri partner, Courtney, because if she hadn’t registered, I would have talked myself out of doing it altogether! It was her first time also so we were both nervous/excited to finish it.

image image

Leading up to the event, I was only really nervous about the bike portion. I’ve never been a strong biker and I don’t even own a bike. It turns out that the bike should have been the second least of my worries! For whatever reason, I convinced myself that the swim would be fine because I grew up with a pool. Welp… I was wrong! The swim ended up being SO incredibly difficult! .3 miles did not sound like a lot to me and it didn’t even look far from the shore, but it was brutal. As it turns out, I’m no Michael Phelps in the water! Courtney started 6 minutes ahead of me (damn you young chicks!) so we weren’t able to tackle this course together. I started the swim ok, but I didn’t even make it to the first buoy before I started to feel completely gassed. I started to get really panicky and scared as soon as I realized how awful I was at swimming. A normal human being would have figured this out well before race day, but not me! I just kept telling myself to stick it out and stay calm. I back-stroked the majority of the swim and it took me 16:34 to get through it. I’ve never in my life been so happy to have my feet back on land.

Next up was my nemesis AKA the bike. As nervous as I was about the bike before the race started, I was so, so happy to be out of the water that the bike looked amazing at this point! I figured it couldn’t possibly go worse. Holy hills. Dear Myles Standish State Forrest, F U and your “rolling hills”. I had no time goals for this race, so I just plugged away at the miles slowly. I was really nervous about being crowded by others but I was solo for the majority of the ride. The bike was definitely challenging, but I made it out in just over an hour. I was really proud of the fact that I didn’t have to get off my bike at all considering the ridiculous amount of hills and the fact that I know nothing about changing gears! Again, probably something that a normal person would have figured out before the race but I like to live life on the edge!

Last up was the run. This last leg was always the least of my worries but I would be lying if I didn’t say that those last 3 miles seemed really daunting to me at this point. I found someone to pace myself with and jogged the majority of it. I stopped to walk up a couple hills but those 3 miles actually went really fast for me. And the absolute best part were the people! Everyone looked so physically exhausted by this point, but so many people kept saying “great job, 43”, “keep it up”, “almost there.” It was so awesome to see such comradery out there.

I’ve never in my life been so happy to see a finish line. NEVER. And Courtney was waiting for me right there! I literally crossed the finish line and hugged her! My final time was 1 hour 57 minutes and Courtney came in at 1 hour 52 minutes. Physically, I was able to push myself through this race, but it was honestly the most mentally demanding race I’ve ever done. I wanted to quit so many times during the swim and the bike but I finished it and I’m so proud of both Courtney and myself for sticking it out.

image image

This triathlon was one of those goals that seemed great when I first wrote it down back in January. I had months and months before I even needed to think about training. Plenty of time to swim, bike, run, and recruit lots of KFitters to do it with me. But just like every other summer, the weekends fill up quickly with plans and before I knew it, I was only a couple weeks out from race day and I had not trained at all! Woops! Truthfully, it became this stressful event that was constantly on my mind. I was really nervous and I have no one to blame but myself for not dedicating more time to training for it. In the end, I’m so happy I did it because it challenged me physically and mentally. Not every goal needs to be this demanding, but I think it is good to set at least one goal that really puts you outside of your comfort zone and this was it for me!

image

As of right now, I’m a ‘one and done’ triathlete. Want to go run a road race? I’m your girl. Want to do a triathlon? Go talk to Kerrie. With that being said, I would definitely encourage all the ladies (You know who you are!!) that said to me that next year is your year to set the goal, register early, and train for it because it is an awesome feeling to cross that finish line! Time to start thinking of some 2016 goals!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comment

